I confess…

After my post three weeks ago about how spring-like everything was and all the things we plan to do, we have done nothing. Nothing at all. I do have one excuse, though. Last weekend the weather was good, we planned to go shopping for garden supplies and make a start… and then I was ill. A cold, I thought, but as it beat me up fairly thoroughly for five days maybe it was more of a flu-type thing. Then yesterday, when we might have done something, we were otherwise occupied at a rat show.

So, by rights it should all be looking tatty and in need of urgent attention. Except it isn’t. We seem to have done enough last year to ensure that everything is now happily getting on with it. We have a couple of bare patches needing something, but I will probably shuffle some of the lychnis (of which we have lots) around to fill those corners.

Just to prove I’m not making this up, here are this morning’s pictures:SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC SONY DSC

When I think back to how it looked just a year ago I can hardly believe the difference.

It’s lovely to have so much colour already, when in honesty we haven’t done anything since the autumn. Just look at this lot:

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

The forsythia seems to be later than a lot I’ve seen flowering around the area, but better late than never. Meanwhile the ceanothus and the dwarf rhododendron are a month earlier than usual. The peony gets bigger every time you look and is covered in buds:

SONY DSC

Also looking promising are the viburnum, lavatera and dicentra so hopefully in a few weeks I’ll be posting pictures of them in full bloom.

So next weekend will be shopping and gardening – I promise! I need to get some seeds started, and want to buy some veg plants too. And maybe some seed potatoes. We’ll see.

 

This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

