It’s all happening here

It’s been one of those weeks, you know the ones. You look away from something for a few minutes and when you look back it’s changed completely. At some point between Thursday evening and yesterday afternoon the witch hazel acquired leaves, all over, all at once. I suspect pixies of creeping into the garden and glueing them on.

Yesterday I spent a bit of time weeding, and planting out bedding plants – Mum gave me some cosmos, asters and rudbeckias so they’re all in the ground now. She also gave me some French marigolds, but I wanted to put them in pots and didn’t have enough compost so they just had to wait – this morning I went and bought some compost, along with a few other supplies, so they’re now sorted. I usually keep a pot in the greenhouse as the marigolds help to keep aphids off the tomatoes. I wanted to get some copper strips to put round the pots to keep slugs and snails off but couldn’t get any this morning so have ended up ordering from Ebay (there’s not much you can’t get on Ebay). I’ve also potted on the four artemisia cuttings which have taken (two didn’t) and have already taken one over to Mum’s.

I took a few pictures yesterday, mostly at the front, then some more today at the back.

SONY DSCSONY DSC

The front is mostly about shades of foliage at the moment but some things are getting ready to flower. Foliage is interesting too, though, and I love to see contrasting plants together:

SONY DSC

Heuchera “Chocolate Ruffles” with hellebore in the background.

SONY DSC

Aquilegia – I think this is self-sown from the Blue Barlow our friend H gave us a couple of years ago.

SONY DSC

Peony will be flowering very soon.

SONY DSC

One of the pelargoniums – this is Stefanie, others have buds starting to appear.

The back garden has a bit more going on.

SONY DSCSONY DSCSONY DSC

A few things have been behind but they seem to be catching up now.

SONY DSC

Choisya

SONY DSC

Ceanothus

SONY DSC

Geum (is it just me, or does the middle of this flower look like the eye of Sauron?)

SONY DSC

Centaurea

SONY DSC

Weigela

SONY DSC

Snow-in-summer

SONY DSC

Heuchera “Sugar Frosting” – flowers imminent.

SONY DSC

Heucheras: “Paris” in full flower; “Alabama Sunrise” has some flower head starting to appear; “Midnight Rose” has flower spikes with buds, will be flowering soon.

SONY DSC

Close-up on heuchera “Paris”

SONY DSC

Deciduous azalea buds. Yes, I know they look like alien pods.

SONY DSC

Not flowers, I know, but at least one of the hostas in the back garden has survived. They got such a mauling last year that I thought we had lost them both. Jury is still out on whether the older, larger one will bounce back but I’m not giving up yet.

And in amongst all that lot we have lots of flowers on the strawberry, buds on the raspberry and fruit already forming on the gooseberry.

Finally here’s something I’ve been meaning to post for a while. Mum bought us these signs for Christmas – J’s hangs in the shed, of course, and mine is in the greenhouse which is much more my domain.

SONY DSCSONY DSC

We’re rapidly approaching the point in the year where all we have to do is a bit of weeding and dead-heading now and then. It’s always good but this year there’s been a bit more urgency about it as I’ve got to have surgery on my foot in June and won’t be able to do much for a few weeks afterwards. Still, as long as the weather’s good I can sit on the patio (with my foot up!) and admire our handiwork.

This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s all happening here

  1. ramblingratz says:

    It looks great. All the best for your foot surgery.

Leave a Reply

