Photography lessons

After some consideration, I have decided to have a go at the RHS photo competition. Well, I’m still thinking about it, but it’s pretty definite now. So as I had a day off today and the weather was good, I took a batch of photos and I now have the maximum of five entries – though admittedly all in one class, but I figure play to your strengths. After some fiddling with the camera and some downloading of useful software I have started playing with RAW files instead of my usual JPEGs to get better quality images.

I’ll post a few of the rejects below as I’m not going to post the competition entries here until after they don’t get shortlisted (ever the optimist!) but first, a few general shots. These probably wouldn’t win any prizes, but they give you a good idea of how it’s all looking.

SONY DSCSONY DSCSONY DSCSONY DSCSONY DSC

So, a few of the competition rejects. These are still pictures I’m pleased with but there were others I preferred, in the end.

SONY DSC

A pretty blue hebe

SONY DSC

And the same hebe being visited by a honeybee

SONY DSC

Spiraea

SONY DSC

Salvia Hot Lips

SONY DSC

Santolina Lemon Fizz – about five times the size it was when it went in

SONY DSC

Aquilegia seed head

SONY DSC

Lavender

SONY DSC

Santolina Lemon Fizz

SONY DSC

Lychnis

SONY DSC

Bramley apple, in development

SONY DSC

Under the gooseberry bush…

SONY DSC

Ripening raspberry

Most were taken with the macro converter, though not all.

This was a failed shot of a visiting insect and as far as I can tell it’s a type of damselfly:

SONY DSC

Pretty, isn’t it? This was the best I could get as the camera was refusing to focus.

Anyway, if I get anywhere with the competition I’ll be sure to let you know!

This entry was posted in Gardening, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Photography lessons

  1. Tilly says:

    Good luck! Even the rejects look like winners to me. You take great photos.

  2. ramblingratz says:

    It’s looking good and so are your photos. I particularly liked the Santolina. All the best with the competition 🙂

Leave a Reply

