Butterfly question

Yesterday I managed to get photographs of a butterfly resting (briefly) on the mahonia. I couldn’t get one of it with its wings open but I was quite sure it was a Red Admiral. Looking at information on line, though, the Red Admiral seems to have more red on the underside of the wings, so now I’m a little confused.

So I shall put one of the photos here, and ask you, dear readers, whether I am going mad  or whether I have discovered a new type of Red Admiral. (This isn’t the very best photo, by the way – I’m saving that for the photo competition I mentioned last week.)

SONY DSC

So tell me, Interwebz… is it a Red Admiral? Do some of them not have red under the wings? All the other markings are right, after all…

This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Butterfly question

Leave a Reply

