Virginia creeper

A conversation in the comments over at RamblingRatz’s blog has resulted in me taking a few pictures of the Virginia creeper on our fence. I’ve definitely posted about it before as it’s so pretty at this time of year, but for the first time this year I noticed flowers. I thought they were creamy white but looking more closely at the photos the cream colour is the pollen, and the “flowers” themselves have green bracts tinged with red, rather than true petals. Anyway, here they are:

virginia-creeper-1

And in close-up:

virginia-creeper-2

My excuse for not noticing the detail until I enlarged the photo will be that I didn’t have my glasses on 😉

This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Virginia creeper

  1. ramblingratz says:

    Fascinating, I’ll have to watch ours closely.

Leave a Reply

