On a cold and frosty morning

The frost this morning was too good an opportunity to miss so out I went with the camera! Some of these are a bit wonky, perhaps not quite in focus but I’m pleased with the general effect and a few might even make their way on to next year’s Christmas cards – assuming I manage to make any. I haven’t had the time or inclination for a couple of years, but I do want to make a bit more effort in 2017.

SONY DSC

Hydrangea flower head (I always leave them till the spring, they look so sculptural)

SONY DSC

Bay tree

SONY DSC

Hellebore just starting to flower

SONY DSC

Hebe

SONY DSC

Verbena seed head – another one that I like to leave over the winter

SONY DSC

Rosemary

SONY DSC

Variegated ilex

SONY DSC

And after holly, you have to have ivy for balance!

SONY DSC

Prunus – this was the best of several attempts as the twig is so small it was almost impossible to focus. You can just see the flower buds. I hope they survive!

In other news, I have finalised my five photos for the RHS competition and am aiming to get them sent in today or tomorrow. I don’t hold out too much hope, but at some point in the next few days I’ll share with you some of the ones that didn’t make the shortlist so you can get a feel for what I’ve done.

This entry was posted in Gardening, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On a cold and frosty morning

  1. ramblingratz says:

    Beautiful – winter’s sugar coating 🙂

Leave a Reply

