Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day 2017

Something I have only just found out about – this meme is hosted by May Dreams Gardens and links garden bloggers on 15th April. Not that I ever need much of an excuse to post photos of flowers!

Today I got arty with a Dicentra (though I learned from the Guardian gardening column that we are meant to call them Lamprocapnos, which is the new Latin name. We can still use the old common name of Bleeding Heart, of course).

SONY DSC

And because I failed to get a good picture of the gentian flowering yesterday, I had another go today.

SONY DSC

For the rest of my Bloom Day pics I tried to get at least a few that I didn’t photograph yesterday, but inevitably there’s some repetition.

Some of the tulips are going over but there’s still a fair amount of colour, especially combined with their pot-mates, the wallflowers and winter pansies.

SONY DSC

The yellow tulip I posted yesterday is just beginning to go over, but I had to include it as I’ve only just realised it has black inside as well as the reddish edging:

SONY DSC

This is a Pretty Sure It’s A Berberis (I have several in the “Pretty Sure It’s A” range)

SONY DSC

And nearby is a purple vinca:

SONY DSC

And the seasonally apt Nemesia “Easter Bonnet”:

SONY DSC

The pulmonaria continues to do very well and is full of bees:

SONY DSC

And the perennial wallflower seems to have been flowering for ages (must get some cuttings):

SONY DSC

If you prefer a bit of white, we have a lovely spiraea:

SONY DSC

And a choisya:

SONY DSC

Back to red with Heuchera Paris, a little earlier than last year:

SONY DSC

And in blue, a self-sown forget-me-not – actually one of my favourite flowers:

SONY DSC

Finally, not really a bloom but the (more or less) inevitable outcome – my glorious hellebores are forming seed pods, so I’m crossing my fingers for seedlings:

SONY DSC

Happy Bloom Day, and Happy Easter.

This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

