Raindrops on roses

And on day lilies, salvia, hypericum berries…

This morning I finished the tasks from yesterday that got put off because of the rain – mainly planting the aquilegia and geum, but there was a little bit of deadheading I missed too. There’s a lot of weeding to be done still but I got some of the worst ones; the rest will just have to wait till next weekend. The aquilegia is a McKana hybrid so should produce large flowers and the colours are pretty much pot luck from what I can gather. The geum is a yellow variety, Lady Stratheden, and I’ve put it near the last surviving Mrs Bradshaw.

Taking advantage of it not raining for a while, I also had a wander round with the camera (and used the macro converter a few times too).

In the back garden, the small hydrangea is doing very well this year:

SONY DSC

And in one of the new bits of flower bed, we’ve got a happy fuschia, as well as annuals (clary and rudbeckia) and the larger hydrangea and sambucca that I moved when we extended the bed (the sambucca is just peeping into the bottom right corner).

SONY DSC

More annual rudbeckias, on the opposite side of the path:

SONY DSC

And a wider shot looking up the garden. It barely looks like a new flower bed any more.

SONY DSC

Close-ups time!

The new hardy rudbeckia, a lovely striking burnt orange.

SONY DSC

Hypericum berries after rain…

SONY DSC

Apples – another small crop this year but the tree is still small. Still happy that we get a few!

SONY DSC

Penstemon “Bodnant” has been lovely. “Flamingo” has flowered well too. “Sour Grapes” has yet to flower so I hope it’s ok.

SONY DSC

Blackberries! We will be able to have apple and blackberry crumble.

SONY DSC

And in extreme close-up.

SONY DSC

Verbena bonariensis.

SONY DSC

And yarrow (Achillea) in white and pink. The white has self-seeded.

SONY DSCSONY DSC

Meanwhile at the front…

The pelargoniums are looking good and I’m glad I went with just red and white this year.

SONY DSC

The monarda, which I’ve never grown before, seem to be settling in well.

SONY DSC

Some of the astilbes have suffered despite a promising start, but this one is flowering:

SONY DSC

The day lilies survived being split and have been flowering happily.

SONY DSC

And Salvia “Hot Lips”… well, what can I say?

SONY DSC

What you don’t see on that photo is that it’s fill of honey bees. I tried getting photos but they were shy.

SONY DSC

Lots of hoverflies too, which is always good as they eat aphids.

I also had a go with the macro converter:

SONY DSC

And finally, the rose I promised you at the beginning:

SONY DSC

This entry was posted in Gardening, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment